You are here


Drs. Andrea Cherrington and Wendy Demark-Wahnefried win 2011 Charles Barkley Excellence in Mentoring Awards

October 14, 2011

UAB Nutrition Obesity Research Center members Andrea Cherrington, M.D., M.P.H., and Wendy Demark-Wahnefried, Ph.D., have been awarded 2011 Charles Barkley Excellence in Mentoring Awards from the UAB Minority Health and Health Disparities Research Center.

Andrea Cherrington, M.D., M.P.H
Andrea Cherrington, M.D., M.P.H

Dr. Cherrington, assistant professor, in the UAB School of Medicine, Division of Preventive Medicine nominated by Amanda Willig, Ph.D., of UAB.

Dr. Wendy Demark-Wahnefried, Ph.D., professor, in the UAB School of Health Professions, Department of Nutrition Sciences, and associate director for cancer prevention and control at the UAB Comprehensive Cancer Center, nominated by Krista Casazza, Ph.D., also of the Department of Nutrition Sciences at UAB.

Mentoring awards recognize faculty who have provided outstanding mentoring and contributed substantially to the career development and retention of students and scholars interested in health disparities. Mentors from UAB, Morehouse School of Medicine, Tuskegee University and University of Alabama are eligible.

The award will be formally presented on Oct. 6, 2011, at An Evening of Special Tribute, chaired by Charles Barkley and Ray Watts, M.D., dean of the UAB School of Medicine.

The winners, nominated by their mentees, receive $500.

“Mentors help shape the career paths of up-and-coming young scholars, so it’s important we foster strong mentoring through the UAB MHRC,” Fouad says. “Our winners are celebrated for developing strong academic and community collaborations, encouraging scholars to ask the right questions and setting high standards for the research profession. We honor the outstanding example they set to all faculty and the enormous impact they have on the field of health disparities.”

The awards were presented during the University of Alabama at Birmingham Minority Health & Health Disparities Research Center's 2011 Health Disparities Awards.

Complete news items can be found at these links:

Wendy Demark-Wahnefried, Ph.D.
Wendy Demark-Wahnefried, Ph.D.