You are here


Graduate Deans Award for Excellence in Mentoring awarded to Drs. Garvey, Nagy and Gower

February 8, 2011

When it rains it pours. Three senior members of our Nutrition Obesity Research Center have recently heard the wonderful news that they are awarded the Dean's Award for Excellence in Mentoring from Dr. Brian Noe, Dean of Graduate Studies at the University of Alabama at Birmingham.

W. Timothy Garvey, MD, Butterworth Professor and Chair, Department of Nutrition Sciences; Timothy Nagy, PhD, Professor and Vice-Chair for Research, Department of Nutrition Sciences; and Barbara Gower, PhD, Professor, Department of Nutrition Sciences were all nominated by their students and postdoctoral scholars for the annual award for the best mentors teaching at UAB.